top of page

My Future

I have big plans for my future, and I do not intend to let my disability stop me. I plan to become an English teacher in order to share my passion for reading and writing with the next generation. I've had some teachers that have really inspired me to pursue a career in education. I hope to give back to the community and make a difference in children's lives, just like my past teachers have done for me. Obviously, becoming a teacher entails going to college. I have more to consider when selecting a school than the average student. I've met with representatives from the disability support services at my top two schools, which are the University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill and the College of William and Mary. I also like University of Maryland- College Park, so I talked to a friend there who has muscular dystrophy as well. She has had an amazing experience there, which shows me how accommodating colleges can be. I have no doubt that I will be happy wherever I end up. I'm done with most of my standardized testing, so I just need to apply and find out where I get in! It's a bit nerve-wracking to know that next year I'll know where I'll spend the next four or five years of my life. I will not let my disability to impact my future success; I will go to college and I will have a successful career and family.

There are some extra things I have to consider when looking for colleges:

  • How far is it from home?

I am currently in the process of getting a drivers license, but I'm not sure if I'll have it before I go to college. If I go out of state I need to make sure I have a way to easily get home.

  • What's the weather like?

I'm not a big fan of the snow and neither is my wheelchair. I would prefer to go somewhere south of here so that the weather is warmer and is less extreme in the winter.

  • What style of dorms does it have?

I would love a suite style dorm that has a bathroom inside of it, which sounds so much better than sharing a bathroom with a whole hall. It would be much easier and more convenient for me.

  • How accessible is the campus?

Most of the colleges I've toured have seemed pretty accessible. I have to make sure there are enough elevators, smooth sidewalks, and transportation options so that I can get around campus easily.

I'm looking forward to documenting more of this exciting process!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page