top of page

Service Dog Training- First Week

Wow, this week went by fast! I am so impressed with my amazing dog Chadds. We've learned a lot in just one week. He can pick things up, open doors, tug open cabinets, and carry things. We've definitely bonded a lot. His two favorite things in the world are cuddling and food! One time this week he jumped fully into my lap. He proceeded to circle around on my tiny lap before laying down and making himself comfortable. I have been able to take him home (well, home to our rented apartment) for two days now. He still greets me with an excited tail wag and kisses every morning. It's been so much fun having him at my temporary home and I can't wait to take him to my real home. I don't let him sleep in my bed, but I let him up on my bed for a little cuddle time every day. Today, he put his head right in the crook of my neck and curled up next to me. He's the cutest dog in the world!

We've done three field trips so far: Chili's, a shopping center that included TJ Maxx, a shoe store, Staples, and Starbucks, and a minor league baseball game in Wilmington, Delaware. Even in big crowds full of curious people, Chadds did really well. Canine Partners had one of their volunteers come up to every dog and start petting them. For those of who don't know, no one other than the owner is allowed to pet a service dog. I didn't realize the volunteer was part of the organization and quickly told her not to pet my dog. Chadds went to a lot of tricky environments on these trips, including dressing rooms, public restrooms, and stadium seating. In every situation, he was well-behaved and listened to me.

The training has also included lectures on various important topics, ranging from healthcare to travel to what to do if someone tries to deny access to a public place. All of the other people in the training are amazing people who come from different places and have different medical challenges. I have enjoyed getting to know them in the last week. I'm so lucky to have a dog as amazing as Chadds and I can't wait to work more with him!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page