top of page

My Amazing Summer

Wow, what a crazy summer! I haven’t posted much because I’ve been away more than I’ve been home. After getting back from service dog training, I was home for a couple weeks before leaving for Camp Simcha Special, an Orthodox Jewish camp for girls with physical disabilities. The theme this year was Magic Kingdom, and the camp truly is the happiest place on Earth. I had such an amazing time being with some of my best friends and doing awesome activities, such as pottery, boating, going on a helicopter, and being in the play. I was very impressed with how well Chadds did at camp. It was an environment that was extremely different than what he was used to, from loud music to a crowded dining hall to living in a bunk. I was most impressed with his ability to sleep absolutely anywhere, including on a boat and in the middle of a concert. I look forward to Camp Simcha Special because I truly feel like I belong there. All of my friends understand and relate to my struggles, even though they have different disabilities. I’m already counting down to next year!

I was only home for five days before my parents surprised me and Colin with a trip to Disney World and Universal! We flew to Orlando super early in the morning and went straight to Magic Kingdom. Chadds actually got to go on rides with me, which was super fun! We did a bunch of the classic rides at Magic Kingdom, including It’s a Small World, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Haunted Mansion. Then we went to Epcot, which has my favorite ride in all of Disney: Soarin’. I loved it so much that I did it twice! We enjoyed walking around the World Showcase at Epcot. We especially loved the food! Universal is definitely different than Disney, but it was also super fun. I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan, so the Wizarding World of Harry Potter was my dream come true. I loved going in the shops in Hogsmeade and Diagon Alley. The Hogwarts Express was super cool because it felt like we were on the train with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. I went on the Forbidden Journey ride inside the Hogwarts Castle, which was definitely the most intense ride I’ve ever done. It was amazing!!! Other than Harry Potter rides, I also really liked the Despicable Me and Jimmy Fallon rides.

I got home from Orlando, only to leave the next morning for a travel-based camp called Kids of Courage. It’s also an Orthodox Jewish camp, but it’s co-ed and we stay in a hotel. This year we stayed in Tysons, Virginia and traveled all over Virginia, Maryland, and DC. We went inside the White House, went to Kings Dominion, had a mall shopping spree, went jet-skiing, went to a shooting range, and visited the FBI Training Academy in Quantico. Some of my friends from Camp Simcha Special were there, and we had a blast together. I’ve known my amazing counselor Shira for three years now and I’m so lucky to have her in my life.

Just when I thought my summer couldn't get any busier, I got to go away one more time. My amazing Muscular Dystrophy camp counselor Maggie took me, my best friend from that camp, and my friend’s counselor to Bethany Beach. We stayed at Sea Colony and had a blast! Chadds loved jumping around and playing in the sand. We had a really great weekend. Now I’m about to start my senior year and I can’t believe it!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page