top of page

Senior Year So Far

I haven’t updated this blog in a really long time, and I apologize for that. I can attribute my lack of writing to my first quarter of my senior year of high school. It certainly went by quickly! Everyone says senior year is supposed to be an easy year. Except I’m not someone who tends to slack off, so it’s definitely still been challenging for me. It’s been challenging in a good way, however. Every class that I am taking interests me in some way. It’s nice being a senior because most of my classes are electives. My favorite classes are definitely AP English Literature and Composition, AP Psychology, AP Photography, and Advanced Composition, which is a creative writing class. By this time in six months, I’ll be about to graduate. I really can’t believe it.

College applications are definitely a grueling process. I decided to apply to six schools: University of Maryland- College Park, the College of William & Mary, University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill, Princeton University, University of Richmond, and Elon University. I’ll start hearing from the schools next month! I’m also in the running for several scholarships, which makes me very excited. I hope to get the best education as I can without completely bankrupting my parents! I’ve met with disability services at most of the schools, and I feel confident that I will have support no matter where I go. It’s an exciting time because I know it will impact my future in the best way possible.

Senior year definitely involves some fun aspects mixed in with the difficult classes and college applications. I got to go to a senior crab feast earlier this year, and enjoyed some delicious food with my really good friends. Homecoming was lots of fun- Chadds was the cutest date I could ever have! I loved getting all dressed up and dancing with my friends. Speaking of Chadds, he’s adapted quite nicely to school. He sleeps in all of my classes, and often that includes snoring as well. One time my psychology teacher asked who was snoring, thinking it was a student, when it was actually Chadds! Only three students have pet Chadds the whole year, which I find impressive. That’s probably because the school played a video about me and Chadds on the morning announcements that explained how he helps me and what students are not allowed to do.

One extracurricular that takes up a lot of my time is River Hill Girl Up, a club that I co-founded. I am the co-president of the club and I really enjoy planning activities. It is a chapter of an international nonprofit that is connected to the United Nations Foundation. Girl Up helps increase access to education and health care for girls around the world, especially in developing countries. We raised almost $300 at a bake sale and all of the funds will purchase bikes for girls in Malawi who live too far from school to walk. We are also advocating for a bill that would help decrease the amount of child marriages in Maryland. If you would like to show your support for this bill, sign the petition at www.tinyurl.com/endchildmarriagemd. I love this club because in my school I get to increase support for women’s rights, a cause that I am extremely passionate about, while also making a difference in girls’ education in other countries.

I have been lucky to have had such an amazing high school experience. I look forward to seeing what the rest of this year has in store for me. I know that I will enjoy this year and make memories that will last forever. I will also try to update this blog more often. I hope you all have a fantastic Thanksgiving filled with good food and fun times with friends and family!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page