top of page

Summer 2019

This summer was full of amazing experiences that led to both personal and professional growth. I already wrote about my Birthright trip to Israel, but that was only one part of my packed summer!

This summer, I worked as a Policy Intern for the Center for Disability Rights (CDR), a disability advocacy organization headquartered in Rochester, New York. Because of my own disability, I was able to intern remotely from the comfort of my home in Maryland instead of relocating to New York for the summer. I had a variety of tasks that taught me about the local, state, and federal government advocacy process.

Throughout the summer, I did research on a wide range of topics that affect people with disabilities. These topics weren’t always things I traditionally associated with disability, but because of my internship, I learned that pretty much any policy issue relates back to disability. For example, I researched opioids and how they help people with chronic pain, automatic vehicles and their potential to increase independence for people with disabilities, rentable micromobility scooters and how they block walkways, gun violence and how blaming it on mental illness increases stigma, and much, much more. Every day was different and educational. I would often take what I learned and turn it into a social media post for CDR.

One of my biggest projects this summer was writing an official position paper for CDR about increasing political engagement by people with disabilities. I thought about how we as a society can make sure people with disabilities are included in the political process, from voting in elections to supporting campaigns to participating in government events to running for office. Especially with the upcoming election, it is essential that people with disabilities feel empowered to mobilize and show up to vote. However, there are often both physical and societal barriers that prevent people with disabilities like myself from being able to fully participate in the political process. I am excited to continue this focus on political engagement throughout the year in my role as a Service Focus participant in the Advocacy and Policy cohort.

The most exciting part of my internship was when I went to a week-long conference in Washington D.C. held by the National Council on Independent Living. Disability advocates from around the country and even the world got together to learn from each other and organize as a collective group to make an impact on disability policy. I participated in engaging workshops, met amazing people, and most importantly, put my advocacy skills to the test during a day on the Hill. A big focus of the conference was the Disability Integration Act, which allows people with disabilities to get the services they need at home and in the community instead of in an institution. We participated in a march to the Capitol and then held a rally outside the building where important members of Congress spoke, including Senator Chuck Schumer, who introduced the Senate version of the bill. I appreciated getting to hear from legislators who are making an effort to support Americans with disabilities. Then, I got to meet with staffers from New York Senators Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand, as well as a staffer for one New York Representative and an actual Representative himself, who seemed even more engaged than the staffers. I loved getting to talk to members of Congress and their staff about why they should support or oppose certain bills. It was so cool to spend time on Capitol Hill surrounded by the people who keep our country running. I even ran into Bernie Sanders while crossing the street!

My internship allowed me to learn about the day-to-day duties of a disability advocate, and I could see myself pursuing this career in the future. Advocacy is not always easy, but this summer I learned how important and rewarding it really is. I am so grateful to my amazing boss Katy and everyone else at CDR for this fantastic experience.

Outside of my internship, I also got to spend quality time with my friends and family. My family went on vacation to Montreal, Quebec City, and Vermont, which were all destinations that had been on our bucket list for a long time. In Montreal, we saw a gorgeous view of the city from Mont Royal, explored the Old Port, went on a riverboat tour, and visited the 1976 Olympic Park. We enjoyed the food and the sights of this historic city. Then, we drove to Quebec City and saw even more old and beautiful sights. We spent our first day exploring Old Quebec. Even though this area wasn't really wheelchair accessible, I just loved rolling around and taking in the atmosphere. It felt just like a quaint European village! We also saw the changing of the guards ceremony at the Citadel, an old stone fortress. For some reason, there was a goat in the ceremony! We went to a beautiful waterfall called Chutes Montmorency. I can't believe my dad was crazy enough to zipline over this gigantic waterfall. After seeing these two awesome Canadian cities, we spent some time in Vermont. Of course, our first stop was the Ben & Jerry's factory tour. We learned about colonial America at the Shelburne Museum. We also spent some time eating and exploring Burlington. Our last night, we watched the sunset over the Burlington waterfront. It was such a great week filled with new adventures and memories with my amazing family.

This summer was one of the busiest summers I've ever had, but it was also one of the best. I move back to Princeton in two days. At this point, I'm ready to start the new school year, but I will miss spending time with my family and friends from home. This upcoming school year comes with some important decisions, including what to major in and what meal plan to be part of as an upperclassmen. It also comes with new responsibilities, including a fifth class, a job as a Fellow in the AccessAbility Center, and a role as a Community Engagement Intern for the Center for Jewish Life. I'm excited to see what I learn and how I grow in the upcoming year. Sophomore year, here I come!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page